Sunday, November 29, 2009

Medical Faculty of the University of Hong Kong

The Medical Faculty of the University of Hong Kong (HKU) is the longest established faculty in the tertiary education in Hong Kong. It was founded as the Hong Kong College of Medicine for Chinese by the London Missionary Society in 1887, and later renamed the Hong Kong College of Medicine in 1907.
The Faculty was accorded the position of premier Faculty when the University was opened in 1912. Serving Hong Kong for over a century, the Faculty is a medical school of learning, of innovation, and of enterprising; a medical school of morals, of vision, and of care. The Faculty and its predecessor have been playing a pioneering role in medical education, training and research. The new Medical Faculty Complex at Sassoon Road inaugurated in 2002 and our main teaching hospital, the Queen Mary Hospital, is just up the road. From its modest beginning, the Faculty has now become the largest faculty of the University, with around 200 full-time teaching staff and 500 research support staff. The student population is about 1,900. The Faculty comprises 17 departments, the School of Chinese Medicine and a number of research centres focusing on various strengths of research of the Faculty.
more details :

No comments:

Post a Comment